iPEnd

The Integrated Program in Endocrinology (iPEnd) was founded in 2016 in order to bring together endocrinology researchers across the University of Wisconsin – Madison.  The goal of iPEnd is to foster collaborative research in endocrinology by leveraging interdisciplinary interactions, area expertise and shared resources.

iPEnd brings together a unique grouping of general and reproductive endocrinology researchers in order to better understand not only the effects of general endocrinology and reproductive endocrinology on human health, but also the fetal origins of adult onset diseases.  Specifically, many of the diseases beginning in pregnancy that limit fetal development are now known to manifest themselves in adulthood as obesity, diabetes, cardiovascular disease and renal failure.  The research that comes out of this collaborative research program targets NICHD and NIDDK research interests.

iPEnd Steering Committee

Name Department or Research Unit E-mail Publications
Reproduction and Endocrinology
Ian Bird Obstetrics and Gynecology imbird@wisc.edu
David Abbott Obstetrics and Gynecology
WI National Primate Research Center
abbott@primate.wisc.edu
Manish Patankar Obstetrics and Gynecology patankar@wisc.edu
Dinesh Shah Obstetrics and Gynecology dmshah@wisc.edu
Jing Zheng Obstetrics and Gynecology jzheng@wisc.edu
General Endocrinology
Dawn Davis Medicine dbd@medicine.wisc.edu
Rozalyn Anderson Medicine rmanderson@medicine.wisc.edu
Vince Cryns Medicine vlcryns@medicine.wisc.edu
Michelle Kimple Medicine mkimple@medicine.wisc.edu
Dudley Lamming Medicine dlamming@medicine.wisc.edu
Faculty Partners
Jon Levine WI National Primate Research Center levine@primate.wisc.edu
Scott Reeder Radiology sreeder@uwhealth.org

 Members

Name Department or Research Unit E-mail Publications
David Allen, MD Pediatrics dballen@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Alan Attie, PhD Biochemistry adattie@wisc.edu
Barak Blum, PhD Cell and Regenerative Biology bblum4@wisc.edu
Derek Boeldt, PhD Obstetrics and Gynecology dsboeldt@wisc.edu
Ricki Colman, PhD WI National Primate Research Center rcolman@primate.wisc.edu
Feyza Engin, PhD Biomolecular Chemistry fengin@wisc.edu
Laura Hernandez, PhD Dairy Sciencey llhernandez@wisc.edu
Colin Jefcoate, PhD Cell and Regenerative Biology jefcoate@wisc.edu
Joan Jorgensen, DVM, PHD Comparative Biosciences joan.jorgensen@wisc.edu
Matthew Merrins, PhD Medicine merrins@wisc.edu
James Ntambi, PhD Biochemistry jmntambi@wisc.edu
Jon Odorico, MD Surgery jon@surgery.wisc.edu
Brian Parks, PhD Nutritional Sciences bparks3@wisc.edu
Jennifer Rehm, MD Pediatrics jrehm@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Federico Rey, PhD Bacteriology ferey@wisc.edu
Will Ricke, PhD Urology rickew@urology.wisc.edu
Dale Schoeller, PhD Nutritional Sciences dschoell@nutrisci.wisc.edu
Linda Schuler, PhD, VMD Comparative Biosciences linda.schuler@wisc.edu
Aleks Stanic-Kostic, MD, PhD Obstetrics and Gynecology stanickostic@wisc.edu
Ei Terasawa, PhD Pediatrics
WI National Primate Research Center
terasawa@primate.wisc.edu
Chad Vezina, PhD Comparative Biosciences cmvezina@wisc.edu
Wei Xu, PhD Oncology wxu@oncology.wisc.edu
Eric Yen, PhD Nutritional Sciences yen@nutrisci.wisc.edu